Indian Museum Kolkata – A mesmerized Experience

Standard

Indian museum was another place that I went to visit in Kolkata, of which I had heard a lot. It is one of the oldest museums in India and also the largest, with a rare collection of many antique pieces, fossils, skeletons, mummies, textiles, masks, gems, Mughal paintings and many other such pieces. The museum is located at Chowringhee Road and I reached the museum at 11.00 am in the morning. It was a large building and after paying the entry fee, got inside. The place was busy with tourists and students and I was completely lost in the huge crowd.

Indian Museum Kolkata

Indian Museum Kolkata | Image Resource : wikipedia.org

The museum is open to the public from 10.00 am to 5.00 pm on all days of the week, except for Mondays. The large hall entered had stairs leading to the upper floor. It is mainly divided into six sections, which are anthropology, archaeology, art, geology, zoology and industry. There are 35 galleries in the museum, each of which teaches you a lot about the past and the present. In the Archaeology section was the Egyptian Gallery, where I saw the mummy and many antique pieces from Egypt. All looked very interesting and I spent some time here watching all the items. The mummy here is said to be 4000 years old.

In the Zoology section there was six sections and I saw many skeletons and models of animals. The lower jaw of Blue Whale is exibited in the museum is so huge that it was impossible to imagine how big the whale would be. There was also the skeleton of an elephant. In the Geology section I saw a wide collection of fossils and what attracted me most was the fossil of dinosaurs and their eggs. Plant fossils were also there. There was also a Mask Gallery with masks from different parts of India, which looked colorful and bright. Some were very terrifying while others looked calm and composed.

The Art Section included Mughal Painting Gallery, Bengal Painting Gallery, Decorative Art and Textile Gallery and South East Asian Gallery.  In the Botany section I saw many plants and plant products and many things made from different parts of the plant.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a comment