Gateway of India – The Iconic Monument and the Crown of Mumbai

Standard

The trip to Mumbai went very good. I was very amazed to see the rich social and cultural fabric of the city through my visits to Ganpati temple, Haji Ali and the Dr DadjiBhau Museum. Once I was done with these visits I headed to the most attractive tourist location of Mumbai known as the Gateway of India. The Gateway of India is a crown on the head of the city. It has a very rich cultural and political significance.

The pillars, architecture and the designs of the monument are reminiscent of the British rule and the sacrifices laid by the various freedom fighters of the country. It was built in the year 1924 to welcome the arrival of King George V and Queen Mary to India. It took some 11 years for the construction of the gateway to complete. The political significance of this monument is that the last British regiment left India from here back in 1948.

Gateway of India

Gateway of India | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The monument is made in the red yellow basalt and is a pure example of the Indo Sarcenic architecture which makes it an architectural marvel of the nation. There are many other leisure activities which can be found around the Gateway of India like boating, water sports and one can also enjoy the spicy street food of Mumbai.

Many international and local tourist visits Gate Way of India

Many international and local tourist visits Gate Way of India | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The monument is one of the first places any new visitor to Mumbai visits. One can see a large number of tourists from different parts of the world. Most of the tourists deeply engrossed in taking selfies and doing photography. The iconic Hotel Taj of Mumbai lies opposite to the monument which makes the visit here a bonus. The place also reminds of the cowardly terrorists attacks of 26/11 when this place was under siege of the terrorist as they created havoc on the streets of Mumbai.

Taj Hotel Mumbai

You can reach the Taj Hotel mumbai, opposite to the Gate Way of India | Image Resource : the-south-asian.com

Once I was done with the visit to the historic Gateway of India, I headed for my next place of visit which were the historic Elephanta caves. These caves are one of the sites of heritage declared by UNESCO with beautiful carvings and sculptures.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

