Haji Ali Dargah – The Spiritual Custodian and Guardian of Mumbai

Standard

After visiting the oldest museum of Mumbai, I tried some of the best Mumbai street food. The next place which I visited was the spiritual site of the city known as the Haji Ali Dargah. The dargah or tomb is of famous sufi saint Haji Ali and is located 500 yards into the Arabian sea which can be reached only when there is a low tide.

view of Haji Ali Dargah in Arabian sea

view of Haji Ali Dargah in Arabian sea | Image Resource : blissfulgeeta.weebly.com

There are many myths and legends which are associated with the belief of Haji Ali. One of the famous legends is that Haji Ali was a famous businessman whose life was changed after his visit to Mecca while performing Haj. After returning, Haji Ali renowned all his worldly pleasures and began a life of renunciation. There is also an offshore location of praying at the dargah which is located near the race course.

The entrance to the Haji Ali Dargah

The entrance to the Haji Ali Dargah | Image Resource : mountainsoftravelphotos.com

One has to enter the carved entrance of the Dargah through which one reaches the marble courtyard that housethe main shrine. One can see a number of devotees which come to pray and take blessings of the holy saint. It is believed that all the hardships of the person are gone once they express them to Haji Ali. Inside the silver frame draped in green and red chaddaris the tomb of the saint.

The tomb of the saint is beautifully decorated with ornaments and mirror work

The tomb of the saint is beautifully decorated with ornaments and mirror work | Image Resource : mountainsoftravelphotos.com

The tomb of the saint is beautifully decorated with ornaments and mirror work of highest quality and artistry. The various 99 names of God as per Islam are written on the tomb. While at the tomb one can enjoy the sufi singers singing praise for the saint as people pray nearby. It’s a wonderful scene and an experience. I just closed my eyes and was lost in the lyrics of those singers. There are numerous refreshment stalls nearby too selling local delicacies.

I felt quite blessed and relaxed after the visit to haji Ali Dargah. After this visit I retired for my hotel. The following day I decided to begin my trip with a visit to the historic icon of Mumbai and a crown on its head known as the Gateway of India situated at Colaba.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

