Dr Bhau daji Lad Museum of Mumbai – A Centre Preserving the Culture and History of Mumbai

Standard

It was an amazing visit to the Lalbaugcha raja Ganpati mandal. I was thrilled to take blessings from the lord. Once done with it, I continued my journey and headed for the next location on my itinerary which was the famous and the oldest museum of Mumbai known by the name of Dr BhauDaji Lad Museum. It is located in the Byculla East area of the city and was established in the year 1855 as a treasure house for keeping arts.

The museum when established by lord Elphinstone in the year 1855 was known as Central museum of Natural History and Arts. Dr Bhau Daji Lad was made a member of the museum committee. He was a renowned Sanskrit scholar, antiquary who raised money for the construction of a new building for the museum. With the patronage of many Indian industrialists the new museum was formed and started in Byculla in 1872.

Dr Bhau Daji Lad Museum of Mumbai

Dr Bhau Daji Lad Museum of Mumbai | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The museum is a fine example and one of the first cultural institutions which is taken care of through a public private partnership model. The infrastructure of the museum is reminiscent of the colonial architecture. I was quite scintillated when I entered the hall. There are many great things which are preserved inside the museum and will interest one and all.

Interiors of the Museum

Interiors of the Museum | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

There are a large number of finds by the archaeology survey of India in the form of maps, many amazing historical photographs of Mumbai, never ever seen be me before. There is also a section which houses the clay models, costumes made from finest artistry and some of the rare silver and copper wares too.

The best part for me inside the museum was the manuscript of the famous Hatim Tai story which is as old as 17th century. For the lovers of history and art this museum is a must visit place if you happen to be in Mumbai.

The visit to this famous museum was worth every penny. After this visit I took a break to try some local street food after which I headed towards my next location which was the Haji Ali Dargah, a famous spiritual Sufi shrine located in Mumbai.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

