Come Experience Untouched Beauty of Nature in Balpakram National Park

Standard

It was time for the last destination of my visit to this ever so beautiful Meghalaya.  Balpakram National Park is one of the most unexplored yet serene wildlife abode situated in North-East India. Located near the international border of Bangladesh, at the extreme end of Garo Hills in Meghalaya this is a place with hidden beauty waiting to get explored. A nature lover’s paradise spread in an area of 200 sq km, this place is also known as “land of perpetual winds”. This vast and dense forest is the home of some of the rarest and exotic species of flora and fauna and considered as rich bio-diversity spot.

Balpakram National Park

Balpakram National Park | Image Resource : biblesindia.in

The best and simplest way to reach this park is via Turi. You can easily reach Turi from Guwahati, which is around 225 km from Balpakram, or another way to reach here is from a nearby town Golpara which is 125 kms. Bus and taxi services are easily available from both of these places at an affordable price. Most of the overnight taxi services charge you around Rs. 1500 for the trip that is quite affordable for budget friendly tourists. Also, helicopter services from Turi are also available for tourists.

Elephants in Park

Elephants in Park | Image Resource : flamingotravels.com

Though Balpakram National Park is open in two periods form March to May and then in November to February but the best time to visit here is form March to May. As this is the time when whole of the park is covered with beautiful and colorful flowers that are rare to see elsewhere. One thing that tourists should keep in their mind is that to visit Balpakram National Park one has to take a permit which is easily available from DFO office without any charges.

With this, my journey came to an end. Away from the hustle and bustle of Kanpur, this journey was definitely worth making. It gave me time and a reason to stay away from my laptop and work and I felt rejuvenated. It was time to go back to Kanpur and plan for the future.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

