A Dazzling Place in the Lap of Nature: Nohkalikai Falls

Standard

Waterfalls always intrigue me and it was time to visit one. I packed my bag and set out for the Nohkalikai Falls. I hired a taxi that would take me from the hotel to the falls.

Nohkalikai Falls is one of the most scenic and picturesque waterfalls of India. Located near the wettest place of world Cherapunji, it is the fifth highest waterfall of India with a height of 1100 ft. It makes a spectacular and mesmerizing sight when water plunges from that height in uninterrupted way and with such a force that it has carved a big hole in the base of hill and make a small pond there which gives a green reflection from height giving it a very different and serene view.  This waterfall is a delight for any adventure lover and you can spend lot of time here just watching this beautiful and splendid creation of nature in its full glory.

Nohkalikai Falls

Nohkalikai Falls | Image Resource : onetikk.com

When I reached here, I found that there are steps at the base of falls and then a small trekking stretch will take you to this beautiful location.

It is located 7 km from the town of Cherapunji and can be easily reached by buses or taxis that are easily available there. A small entrance fee is charged, and if you are carrying a camera, then you have to pay a little fee for that also. If you are an adventure lover, then you are going to love this place as it offers trekking, camping, bird-watching, photography all at one place.

 The best time to visit this place is from September to October when the skies are pretty much clear, and fall is very much visible because it covered by thick clouds in the months of monsoons. Also in this time period falls have a very high flow of water which makes it more resplendent. Also, it is advisable to carry food and water if you are planning to stay here for long hours.

It was truly amazing and I had fun with fellow travelers there. It is never solitary here and I liked that!

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

