Rain-Washed Greenery At Cherrapunji Eco Park!

Standard

The day I planned to visit the Eco Park, it was raining from morning. Nevertheless, I could not give it a miss. So I decided to venture out and enjoy the rain-washed beauty of Cherrapunji.

Designed by the Meghalaya government, the Eco Park offers an eclectic panoramic view of the Green Canyons, a stream flowing inside the park and the waterfalls around it. The tourists can also get a glimpse of the Bangladesh plains on the other side of the Eco Park. The Eco Park has been beautified by a variety of orchids donated by the Shillong Agri-Horticultural society.

As our car braved the rain, gliding through the undulating mountain roads, I enjoyed the view outside the windowpane. The climate was cool and as the wiper went up and down the front glass, blurring the view as it went down and clearing it up again as it went up, I sat cozily enjoying the entire thing.

The driver went on talking about this and that about the rains and the place etcetera etcetera. But I was just lost in the surreal experience. There was a sudden thunder that tore apart the rhythm at one moment. With the sudden jolt, I was back from the trance. I looked up at the sky. It was like giant clouds warring right above. Suddenly, I felt so small, so feeble, protected inside a metal cocoon.

Cherrapunji Eco Park

Cherrapunji Eco Park | Image Resource : wikimapia.org

By the time we reached Cherrapunji Eco Park, the rain had subsided considerably. There was mild drizzling. As I stepped out of the car, it felt being in heaven. The entire environ was so pleasant and soothing to the eyes, that I didn’t even feel like closing my eyes for even a blink. I kept staring at the just out-of-the-shower Eco Park with specks of cloud here and there. You could literally touch the clouds.

It green earth under my feet was wet and soft, with the grass still dripping water from the tip. I walked around the park capturing some of the wonderful shots of the place and selfies with the waterfall as the backdrop in my mobile camera. The rejuvenating experience I had in the Cherrapunji Eco Park will stay with me all through my life.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

