Find Peace at Catholic Cathedral in Shillong

Standard

After the Don Bosco Museum, the next day, I visited the Catholic Cathedral in Shillong, One of the most famous places in Shillong, the Cathedral of Mary Help of Christians, is frequented by both Catholic and non-Catholic tourists alike. It is the main place of worship of almost the whole Catholic population of Shillong.

Catholic Cathedral in Shillong

             Catholic Cathedral in Shillong | Image Resource: photodivision.gov.in

I visited the place on a sunny and beautiful afternoon, and the first thing I noticed was the beautiful and imposing building. The high arches, the stained glasses, the beautiful statue of Mary, all add to the grandeur of the structure. The first thing you notice on entering the church is the set of stations of the cross, made of terracotta; they depict the suffering and death of Jesus Christ.

If the outside of the church is beautiful, then the insides can’t be described. The interiors are adorned with a number of works of art that portray a number of scenes from Holy Scriptures and depict the life of saints.  One look at the stained glass windows from the inside and you will be left mesmerized by its simple beauty.

view-of-catholic-cathedral-shillong

View of Catholic Cathedral Shillong | Image Resource : panoramio.com

The main altar is actually the grave of the first archbishop of the city of Shillong, the late Rt. Rev. Hubert D’Rosario, SDB., DD.  Next to the grave is another altar that is used for special 9 day devotions that are held every month. Go there not just for the beauty of the place but also for the calmness that takes over you and the peace of mind those moments sitting in the Cathedral give you.

This place gives you utter peace and you feel at rest. I felt so good after visiting the church that I felt lucky for the life that I have got and what I have been able to make out of it. I am grateful to God for everything I have!

This was my third destination and now was the time to get back to the resort. I hired a taxi and off I went to the resort for another session of a hearty dinner and a good night’s sleep!

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

