Take a Glimpse Of History at Don Bosco Museum

Standard

My next visit was a date with history. A must visit place for people interested in knowing about history and culture, the Don Bosco Museum is located in Shillong. The full name of the museum is Don Bosco Museum of Indigenous Cultures and is actually Asia’s largest museum of its kind. I reached the seven story building that houses the museum around noon and ended up spending my whole day in there. The museum gives you a complete overview about the culture and history of various regions in the North-eastern India.

Don Bosco Museum

Don Bosco Museum | Image Resource : sevendiary.com

Starting from the ground floor, the museum is divided into 17 well laid out galleries, each of which have a number of artifacts, paintings, attires, weapons, handicrafts and fiberglass figures, with a detailed explanation about their history and cultures. I was delighted when I reached the top floor of the building, exhausted from all the walking and reading, to find out that the area was designed for the visitors to relax and for them to enjoy a number of rare dances of North East.

Paintings at the Museum

Paintings at the Museum | Image Resource : sevendiary.com

The place is open on the days of the week except Sundays from 9:00 am to 5:30 pm. Make sure that when you visit the place when you have at least 2-3 hours to spare so that you can walk through the vast galleries at your leisure. The eatery located in the museum not only serves continental, Chinese and Indian cuisines but also a number of indigenous cuisines of the regions which include bamboo shoot, pork chops, special fish dishes from Manipur, momos, Jadoh, Khasis, and much more.

Statue of Meitei Dhol Cholom drummer at the Museum

Statue of Meitei Dhol Cholom drummer at the Museum | Image Resource : sevendiary.com

An ideal place to visit with your group of friends who are interested in history and art, there is also a mini museum for kids which is ideal if you go with your family. There are a number of features like touchscreen computers with a dedicated computer area too.

We generally know less of North east India and here I was learning everything that is there to this part of the country. It is so colourful and distinct that one should definitely learn about this place.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

