Kanpur To Shillong: A Journey That Led To A Lot Of Happiness!

Standard

Being a marketing professional, I am always stuck in work day in and day out. Being a challenging job, it takes a lot of my energy strategizing the right ideas and moves for the company’s products and their marketing. So it was time for me to take a break. Here I was, thinking of where to go and a friend pointed out Shillong. Being an amazing place, I had never been able to go there. So it was time for me to explore this new destination in India.

My journey to the picturesque city of Shillong started from Kanpur. As there were no direct flights running between Kanpur and Shillong, I decided to board a train to New Delhi from where I would catch my flight. I used the best travel app, at least in my personal opinion, to plan my whole journey. I booked an AC ticket in the Shatabdi Express that runs between Kanpur and Delhi. I boarded the train from Kanpur Central at around 6 in the morning and reached New Delhi by 11:20. The ride was pretty much uneventful except for a couple of interesting strangers I met.

New Delhi Railway Station

New Delhi Railway Station | Image Resource : yourstory.com

From the New Delhi railway station, I took a cab that dropped me directly at the Indira Gandhi airport in the capital. I still had a few hours to kill which I spent in the airport coffee shop reading a book and checking my email. I boarded my flight to Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose airport in Kolkata. From there, I caught my connecting Air India Airlines flight that finally dropped me of at Barapani airport in Shillong.

Air India Airlines

Air India Airlines | Image Resource : akosha.com

Reaching Shillong, I had undergone three sets of travel modes and I was done as far the travelling part was considered. Finally after reaching Shillong, I hired a taxi that would take me to my pre-booked resort which would become my abode for the rest of the journey. A tryst with Shillong awaited me and I was all set to explore it. But before that, it was time to unwind and relax at the hotel!

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

