Heavenly Lauki Kofta Curry Recipe – Oriya Style

Standard

One afternoon, after randomly gorging on street food in Odisha, I landed up at a local restaurant. It seemed like any other eatery with people snacking on their favourite stuffs. On a table nearby, I saw a couple taking delight in one of the regional-based fares called Lauki Kofta Curry. Of course, it looked attractive and I too decided to place an order for it.

With rice, the dish tasted heavenly. As a complete foodie and a passionate cook myself, it took me no time to figure out its ingredients.

I returned to my hotel and did a bit research online regarding Lauki Kofta Curry method of cooking. It was pretty simple and hassle-free. Let us have a look at how to make gourmet Lauki Kofta Curry at home.

Kofta Curry

Kofta Curry | Image Resource : chef-sanjeevkapoor.blogspot.com

Things you will need for Kofta-

  • 1 medium-sized bottle gourd, peeled and shredded
  • 4-5 garlic flakes chopped
  • 2 green chillies chopped
  • 1 tablespoon coriander powder
  • ½ tablespoon turmeric powder
  • ½ cup Besan
  • ¼ cup water
  • oil for frying
  • salt to taste

Ingredients for gravy-

  • 2 tomatoes pureed
  • 2 onions, 4-5 garlic flakes, 1-inch ginger, 2 green chillies grounded in a paste
  • ¼ tablespoon turmeric powder
  • ½ tablespoon roasted cumin powder
  • 1 tablespoon garam masala powder
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 1 tablespoon cumin seeds
  • cilantro leaves, chopped
  • salt to taste

Method for Kofta-

  • Heat little oil in a pan; add green chilli, garlic, and sauté for a minute.
  • Add shredded bottle gourd, turmeric powder, coriander powder, red chilli powder, and salt, and mix well.
  • Keep stirring the mixture until the water evaporates. Off the flame and let the stuffing cool down.
  • In another bowl, take Besan, salt and water to form a batter.
  • Now divide the stuffing into small balls of equal size.
  • Dip each bowl into the Besan batter and deep-fry it in hot oil.
  • Take them out one by one once the Kofta turn golden brown.

Method for Gravy-

  • Heat oil in a pan, add cumin seeds and sauté.
  • Add the onion-ginger-chilli paste and mix well.
  • Let it cook until the mixture separates from the oil.
  • Add tomato puree, turmeric powder, garam masala, and salt to taste.
  • Add Kofta one by one to this gravy and let it all cook for 5-10 minutes.

Finally, take the preparation off the flame. Serve in a serving bowl/dish and garnish with cilantro leaves.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

