The War Memorial of Chandigarh: A Tribute to the Martyrs of the Nation

Standard

After visiting the palace of assembly there was place for one more tourist spot in the itinerary map of my visit to Chandigarh. So the last destination that I chose was the Chandigarh War Memorial. I have great respect for our armed forces as they nurture men of honour who lay their lives for the safety of the commons of a nation. What could have been a better token of respect for these brave souls than a war memorial dedicated to the greatness and glory of these men?

The war memorial of Chandigarh is perhaps the largest in the country as it holds the records of as many as 8459 deceased soldiers and officials of the defence forces since our country got independence in 1947. This memorial was inaugurated on 17th of August 2006 by our honourable former president Dr APJ Abdul Kalam to glorify the sacrifice and nobility of the martyrs of Army, Navy as well as air force of India.

War Memorial of Chandigarh

War Memorial of Chandigarh | Image Resource : chandigarhtourism.gov.in

This memorial holds the names of the decease soldiers from the states of Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana and the union territory of Chandigarh. This monument of reverence is a constant reminder of the supreme sacrifice made by a few of the selfless souls so that the nation can enjoy its freedom. It will remain a testimony of the act of selflessness and courage of these brave hearts for the generations to come so that they may draw inspiration from those who lost their lives for the nation and hence inculcate a feeling of nationality and oneness among the masses.

The war memorial of Chandigarh has been set up by the Chandigarh administration in collaboration with the Indian Express. My trip to Chandigarh would of course never have been complete if I would have missed out this monument of sacrifice and pride. As I returned back to my hotel I was filled with a feeling of gratitude and respect for our armed forces and was really touched by their noble sacrifices. As I returned back home I carried with me the memories of this awesome trip of Chandigarh which had given me so much to learn and share.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

