Zakir Hussain Rose Garden: The Pride of Chandigarh

Standard

After the Sukhna Lake the very next destination that I visited was the Zakir Hussain Rose Garden.  It is also a botanical garden located in the city of Chandigarh and stretches over an area of 30 acres of land. It is spread over an area of 30 acres of land and comprises of about 50000 rose bushes which belong to 1600 different variety of roses. This phenomenal centre of tourist attraction is named after the former president Dr. Zakir Hussain and was created in the year 1967.

The garden is a heritage for the city as it holds the distinction as Asia’s largest botanical rose garden. The best season to visit this place is the winter season. It is during this season that the roses are at full bloom and the view is truly breath taking. I couldn’t believe my eyes as I was gaping at the beautiful colours of nature that were spread over the whole area. Even the breeze carried the delicate fragrance of the beautiful roses.

Zakir Hussain Rose Garden

Zakir Hussain Rose Garden | Image Resource : majithiafarm.com

The Zakir Hussain Rose garden is a very popular picnic spot and is most preferred by families who come to take a stroll here along with their children who love to play in the lush green grass that covers the whole garden.  Pathways have been laid all across the garden to enable walkers to take a view of the beautiful roses as they follow their fitness regime.

It seemed to be a very lively place to me as there were children playing all around the garden and the colourful roses added a vibrant charm to the environment. Apart from the roses the garden also houses plants of medicinal value such as camphor, harar, bel, gulmohar etc. The garden also holds other attractions for tourists such as a variety of outlets that offer food and drinks, joyrides are also part of the tourist recreational services.

It was a very soothing experience for me to relax in the rose garden and spend my time observing people and children. I felt very light and time flew in the blink of an eye when I was at this beautiful garden.

Zakir Hussain Rose Garden Chandigarh

Zakir Hussain Rose Garden Chandigarh | Image Resource : nritribune.com

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

