Sukhna Lake: An Integral Part of Chandigarh

Standard

I was really enjoying the time spent at the beautiful planned city of Chandigarh as it is sprawling with the beauty of nature. During my visit to the Rock garden I had noticed the beautiful Sukhna Lake that is located adjacent to it. Due to shortage of time I was unable to pay a visit to this lake that very day but I had already marked it on my itinerary list.

So the next destination that I chose to visit in Chandigarh was the Sukhna Lake that is situated at a very premier part of the city in sector 1. Due to its popularity among vacationers and picnickers there are number of eating joints and restaurants that have emerged in this area. The local food that is offered at these eateries is truly mouth watering. I purchased some snacks and then headed towards the lake.

Sukhna Lake Chandigarh

Sukhna Lake Chandigarh | Image Resource : kiboli.wordpress.com

Basically the Sukhna Lake is a reservoir that stretches over an area of 3 kilometres and has an average depth of 8 feet. The maximum depth of this lake is 16 feet. This rain fed was built in the year 1958 by creating a dam on the Sukhna Choe that is a seasonal stream that flows down the Shivaliks. Hence the name of the lake suggests.

This lake is a preferred site among tourists as well as the local residents of all age groups. Many people come to the dam to take a stroll in the pleasant scenic settings, others follow a disciplined exercise regime and come for walks here regularly, and families also find this place as an optimal location to spend quality time with their kids. Boating facility is also available at this lake.

Moreover the setting sun or the early morning view at the Sukhna Lake lures artists and painters to capture the mystical scene on their canvas. Even the heavy monsoon clouds appear indescribably beautiful from this lake. I spent a couple of hours sitting and gazing at the gorgeous sun set from the bank of this lake and also clicked a few pictures to take back as souvenirs for my friends.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

