The Government Museum and Art Gallery of Chandigarh

Standard

The next destination that I visited on my Chandigarh trip was the government museum and art gallery of Chandigarh. Works of art and history always draw my interest and hence I was very keep to visit this well renowned museum in the beautiful planned city of Chandigarh. The museum is located in the heart of the city and holds a mesmerising view of the Shivaliks which makes it an even more preferred site for visitors from far and nearby places.

This prominent museum holds its existence since the partition of India and Pakistan in August of 1947. Prior to the partition all the collectibles of the museum were housed in the Central Museum of Lahore, now in Pakistan. After the event of partition 60 percent of the exhibits were retained by the Lahore museum and the rest was returned back to the Government museum of Chandigarh. The museum is a premiere institution of India with a very rich collection of Gandharan sculptures and Pahari and Rajasthani style miniature paintings.

Apart from the collectibles this museum is also very famous for its scenic beauty and the Government college of Art that is located on one size of the main building. The museum has a sprawling campus with a widely spread out courtyard. There are tall trees and contemporary environmentally suitable sculptures that add to the grandeur of the area.

Government Museum and Art Gallery of Chandigarh

Government Museum and Art Gallery of Chandigarh | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The museum comprises of four wings, namely the art gallery, the natural history museum, Chandigarh architecture museum and the national gallery of portraits. No doubt the largest wing of this museum is the building dedicated to the Art gallery and houses some of the most prestigious artefacts that are kept for public display.

The very interesting wing of this museum is the Chandigarh architecture museum, as it houses some of the original documents and blue prints regarding the planning and evolution of the city. If one wishes to know more about the architecture of the city he can purchase the handbook that is available on sale at the reception counter of this wing. I was quite satisfied as I returned to my hotel in the evening. It was indeed a very knowledgeable experience for me.

 

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

