The Sculpture Garden of Chandigarh: Rock Garden

Standard

On the first day of my stay at Chandigarh I went to visit the sculpture garden i.e. the Rock garden in Chandigarh. I had heard a lot about this garden as it is made up of industrial waste and thrown away items of households. I grabbed my camera and headed towards this tourist destination which is easily commutable from all parts of the city via public transport.  The entry fee is very nominal and there are a couple of cafeterias and canteens in the vicinity that satisfy the appetite of visitors.

Sculptures at Rock Garden

Sculptures at Rock Garden | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The rock garden was built by Nek Chand who was a government official. He started this garden clandestinely in the year 1957 when he used to spend his spare time building the artefacts of this garden. Presently this garden stretches over an area of 40 acres of land. This garden became so popular over time that it is visited by over 5000 people per day and almost more than 12 million tourists have visited this place since its inception.

The most distinctive feature about the Rock garden is that it completely made up of waste. Such form of recycling is not only a very unique for of art but is also environment friendly. The sculptures of dancers, musicians and animals made up of recycled ceramics are the most famous entities of this garden. This is a beautiful place to visit for vacationers and picnickers due to its artificial interlinked waterfalls which offer a perfect site to nature lovers.

Waterfall at Rock Garden

Waterfall at Rock Garden | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

There are hundreds of sculptures in this garden which are completely carved out of bottles, bangles, glasses, tiles, sinks, ceramic pots, electric waste and many more such by products. All these items are displayed in the walled paths of the garden.

Dancing Girls at Rock Garden

Dancing Girls at Rock Garden | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

There are many publications also that have praised the amazing work of Nek Chand. Apart from this the beautiful scenic surroundings the garden also has good eateries that offer delicious snacks to tourists. I scanned the whole garden and then had some snacks in the evening. It was a memorable trip for me and I was quite happy to have seen such distinctive and unique work of art in the Rock garden of Chandigarh.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

