My train journey from Kanpur to Chandigarh

Standard

Being a marketing person by profession I have a very hectic schedule. I am very committed towards my job and hence I am most of the time engaged with it. But in between this busy and tiring schedule of mine I make sure to squeeze out some time to travel and spend time with family and friends. This time I took a most needed break from my job and decided to visit the beautiful city of Chandigarh.

I believe in simple living and high thinking thus I prefer to travel via trains or buses so that I may also enjoy the journey to my destination. So I booked my tickets on the ac compartment of Hwh Dli Klk mail i.e. train number 12311 which runs between Howrah junction (HWH) and Kalka (KLK) railway station. The Chandigarh railway station (CDG) comes on its route where I had to un- board.

Hwh Dli Klk Mail

Hwh Dli Klk Mail | Image Resource : rajasthantourismbuzz.wordpress.com

This train leaves the Howrah junction at 19:40 hours and reaches Chandigarh at 3:50 hours in duration of 3 days after covering a distance of 1706 kilometres. It was going to be a long journey but I was happy to travel the traditional style. The train has a good pantry service and food was not a problem during the entire journey.

On my route the train stopped at many stations that include Durgapur, Gaya junction, Mughal Sarai Junction, Kanpur central, Etawah, Delhi, Ambala cant Junction and then finally reaches Chandigarh where I had to go.  I boarded the train at the Kanpur central where it arrives at 12:35 hours and it took me one full day to reach my destination.

Kanpur Central

Kanpur Central | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

There are a number of trains from Kanpur to Chandigarh that can be easily checked on the internet i.e. the Indian railways website and also on popular travel agency websites that help to book tickets for two way journey between almost all the stations and thus makes the process of planning a travel very convenient.

Gone are the days when people used to stand in long queues and book tickets on the ticket window.  Now it’s the age of cyber technology and hence booking tickets is possible on the go. Out of all the trains from Kanpur to Chandigarh I made my reservations on the train number 12311 as it best suited my timings and runs on all week days. It has proper pantry service and the route traced by it is also quite good.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

