Mahanadi Barrage Cuttack : A Necessity for the Welfare of the People

Standard

One of the major rivers of the eastern India is the River Mahanadi which travels through the two states of Odisha and Chhattisgarh. The Mahanadi Barrage Cuttack has been built as an artificial obstruction on the river so as to divert its flow. The river Mahanadi has the distinction of having one of the oldest and most important dams in our country that was built for controlling the flood. The barrage is very useful in checking the waters of the river as otherwise the river will get out of control creating havoc in its aftermath.

Mahanadi Barrage Cuttack

Mahanadi Barrage Cuttack | Image Resource : walkthroughindia.com

The barrage on this river has many gates that are helpful in controlling the river water and even allowing the water to flow periodically for irrigation purposes. The view around this barrage is very beautiful and I could see the magnificent view of River Mahanadi flowing in its total glory. It was an awe inspiring sight that can’t be completely expressed in words. When I reached there, the place was not too crowded and hence I had a peaceful ambience.

The cool breeze blowing through the place was very pleasant and soothing. I could feel myself relaxing and letting go of all my worries and tensions. This scenic spot is perfect for a romantic outing also. There were many vendors and hawkers selling many gift items and I bought a few as souvenirs for friends and family members. I was sure that they would love those items. A food stall was also there which was very crowded as the pleasing and mouthwatering aroma coming through the food items was forcing everybody to go there.

Being an avid foodie I could not stop myself and hence had to go to the stall and taste some of the items. The food served was very delicious and tasty and truly, I had one of the best eating experiences. I took many pictures of this place so that I could show it to everybody back home. The visit to Mahanadi Barrage Cuttack was a calming and soothing experience.  I was then ready to make plans for my next destination and that was the Barabati Stadium.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

