St. Paul’s Cathedral Church Kolkata – The Sweetest Enlightens

Standard
St. Paul’s Cathedral Church Kolkata

St. Paul’s Cathedral Church Kolkata | Image Resource : wikipedia.org

This was a lucky trip because I almost missed it. I was unable to get my tickets due so some confusion. However, I manage to get seats booked through a friend’s bus booking app. I was quite desperate to visit St. Paul’s Cathedral Church.

Cathedral Church

Cathedral Church | Image Resource : panoramio.com

St. Paul’s Cathedral Church is one of the most important religious places in Kolkata, visited by people from all religions. The construction of the church started in 1839 and it took 8 years to complete the construction.  As I reached the church, I was very much impressed by the beauty of the church. It was built in the Gothic Revival style and had stained glass windows. The church is 247 ft long and 81 ft wide. The tower is 201 ft high. The Bishop’s house opposite the cathedral also shows architectural beauty.

The garden surrounding the church was well maintained and looked very beautiful and lush green with plants and grass. On all days of the week except Sundays, the church is open for the devotees from 9.00 am to 12.00 noon and then from 3.00 pm to 6.00 pm. On Sundays it is open from 7.30 am to 6.00 pm.  It was evening when I got in to the church. The church was well maintained and well taken care of. Service is held here every day in English and Bengali.

Beautiful paintings

Beautiful paintings | Image Resource : flickr.com

Inside the church the hall was large and impressive and the pews and chairs were artistically carved looking very impressive. On the walls there were beautiful mural paintings that were beautiful enough to captivate anyone. It depicted the life and works of St. Paul and how he sacrificed his life for the common man. The coffin of Bishop Wilson rested in the church in the underground chamber.

The church was very peaceful and serene and I knelt down with some other devotees in the church and prayed silently for a few minutes. It filled a sense of inner calm in me and I spent some time sitting there and admiring the beauty of the paintings and the stained glasses. The large area surrounding the church had a variety of ancient trees. It has a one storey building on its South, which is often used as a venue for conducting marriages.  During the Christmas times it takes a festive look with illuminations and decorations. The visit to St. Paul’s Cathedral Church in Kolkata took away all my tensions and made me peaceful and happy.

 

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

