Traditional Jharkhand Cuisine- Arihant A blend of Health And Taste

Standard

It is very difficult to separate me from food. I may be bordering on obsessing about it. Every time in all my trips, I would keep a day aside dedicated for the sampling of the local cuisine when I would go to any local restaurant in the market and ask them to serve me the traditional food of the city that I was visiting. Many found it odd that I could eat unfamiliar food without giving it much thought but for me they were like culinary adventure rides where I would not know what the taste of the next food item will be. Would it be sour or chilly, melt in my mouth or be tough to chew, okay for my taste sensibilities or simply be mouthwatering and delicious. You can never tell until you eat them, can you? I was about to try out the traditional Jharkhand cuisine- Arihant.

Ttraditional Jharkhand Cuisine Rugra

Ttraditional Jharkhand Cuisine Rugra | Image Resource : amritasinha.wordpress.com

You cannot miss out on ‘Rugra’ if you are looking for the traditional dishes in Jharkhand. They have been the single most favourite dish of many generations of people living in Ranchi. The hotel housekeeping staff had already told me that this dish was something that he would invariably find on his dinner table every day.  I was keen to find out why and what did it taste like. Rugra, I was told was an indigenous variety found in the rainy season in Jharkhand and is cooked mostly like mushrooms. I was served rugra with chappatis and believe me when I say that it has been the most delicious dish that I have had in a very long time. I finished my plate with no difficulty at all considering the portion was enough for one person but I ordered one more plate because I just could not get enough of its taste.

Like  Mushrooms

Like Mushrooms | Image Resource : amritasinha.wordpress.com

I found out later that the dish was also very healthy and was packed with calcium and minerals and was a wholesome dietary inclusion in the diet of the people of Jharkhand. Though the food was not so calorific yet we had to detach ourselves from the traditional Jharkhand cuisine-Arihant and move towards the JSCA International Cricket Stadium Jharkhand to burn some calories.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

