The Chance To Celebrate The Mahashivratri Festival In Patna Was Amazing

Standard

Luckily I had visited the city of Patna at a time when there were lots of cultural as well as religious events going on. That helped me to understand much about the city and the rich heritage and culture of it. However, I was not lucky to be present there at the time when people celebrate Mahashivratri Festival in Patna and it was held last year. It is considered as the main festival amongst the Hindus and huge celebrations and other rituals are followed by the people of the state. There are lots of Shiva temples and devotees make long queues just to offer prayer and show their devotion towards Shiva, the Hindu God. Shivaratri is marked as an occasion for the worshiping of Lingam and for that purpose the locals fast the whole day before they offer prayer to the Lord. Every temple is designed and fitted with lights to mark the occasion. Many stalls with different delicacies and other food items will be organised as well.

Patna Mahashivratri

Patna Mahashivratri | Image Resource : viewpatna.blogspot.in

However, the occasions happen during the month of February or March every year and the days are declared as a government holiday. According to the Hindu calendar, the festival is organised in the month of magha every year, which is the actual time for celebration. I wanted to enjoy every bit of the occasion in the town, which is really unique. Every individual offers his or her prayer and worship Lord Shiva for a successful future. After offering the puja, people break their fast and take fruits. The experience will be quite unique and people from other countries also visit the state during such occasions.

Celebrate the Mahashivratri Festival

Celebrate the Mahashivratri Festival | Image Resource : viewpatna.blogspot.in

I felt myself not lucky to celebrate Mahashivratri Festival in Patna; however, I cherish the moments being there. With that, my trip in Patna had come to an end and it was a comfortable and a great trip, which helped me to get accustomed with its culture and historical aspects. I was going back to my normal and busy life and for that purpose I was feeling a bit sad. I have always loved travelling and am looking to plan out something again in a few more days. On that same day, I boarded the train, which was scheduled to reach Kanpur.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

