The Iconic Takht Sri Patna Sahib

Standard
Takht Sri Patna Sahib

Takht Sri Patna Sahib | Image Resource : Wikipedia.org

From the famous botanical park I moved on to another iconic destination in Patna, which was the famous Takht Sri Patna Sahib. It was the birth place for the tenth Sikh Guru named Govind Singh Maharaja and was situated in the north eastern part of the state. The place was situated on the bank of the river Ganga and I learnt that a huge number of tourists visit there every year. Guru Govind Singh Maharaja was the tenth guru of Sikh religion and was born in Patna. He had become the Guru in the year 1675 when he was just nine years old. He had succeeded his father Guru Tegh Bahadur and was the leader of the religion while serving also as a poet, philosopher and warrior. He was considered as the perfect idol for unique horsemanship and combat skills. He was a pioneer in education and was known for his character and manhood.

Guru Govind Singh

Guru Govind Singh Maharaja | Image Resource : plus.google.com

With his association, the place has become famous especially amongst the followers of Sikhism. Guru Govind Singh’s life had left a lasting impression on the Sikhs and till the present day, they respect and worship the Maharaja. His establishment of Khalsa is considered as one of the most important events in their history. He fought in a total of twenty battles and had protected the Sikhs from Mughals and other groups. He was the last Sikh guru and had declared the Granth Sahib as the Holy Scripture for the Sikh religion. Similar to other Gurudwaras, the volunteers greeted every visitor with Prasad and different delicacies. I too had the good fortune of eating roti and sabji in the gurdwara premises.

Guru Gobind BirthPlace

Guru Gobind BirthPlace | Image Resource : Wikipedia.org

The whole area in Takht Sri Patna Sahib was quite large and one could easily feel blessed when he or she visited any such Holy place. I was feeling extremely lucky for getting the chance of visiting the place where the tenth Guru of the Sikh was born. After spending some quality time there, I decided to go ahead towards my next destination, which was another historical place, the Ashokan pillar. The place was associated with various historical events and I was dying to get a glimpse of it.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

