Holi Celebrations With ISKCON In Kanpur

Standard

There are only few months left for the festival of colours to come. The first festival after our new year. I just remembered my last Holi experience, which was so great and spiritual. I had a chance to visit the ISKCON event that was held in Kanpur. I have heard a lot about this organisation so had decided to check it out.  A colleague of mine is an active member of this group and I accompanied him to one of their gathering.

Rath-Yatra at ISKCON

Rath-Yatra at ISKCON | Image Resource : equalitydiversityofficer.blogspot.in

For all those who are reading about ISKCON for the first time. It stands for International Society for Krishna Consciousness, a religious organization consisting of the followers of Lord Krishna. Surprisingly, In spite of being a Hindu organisation it did not originate in India.  In the year 1966, A. C. Bhakti Vedanta Swami Prabhupada established it in New York.

Bhakti Vedanta Swami Prabhupada

Bhakti Vedanta Swami Prabhupada | Image Resource : harekrsna.com

The ideology of this group is mainly based on Hindu scriptures such as the Bhagavad Gita and the Srimad Bhagavatam. It is said that, ISKCON is greatly inspired by the ancient Gaudiya Vaishnava theology. It has countless followers not only in India but also in different nations in Europe and America.

Lord Krishna

Lord Krishna | Image Resource : dandavats.com

A special gathering is organised on the auspicious occasion of Holi. Providing the people of Kanpur, a chance to spirituality connect with the Lord Krishna. It is a grand ceremony with 6,000 followers present to celebrate and share their faith. More than 2,500 kgs of varied flower petals are brought to celebrate the festival of colours.

Cellabration Holi

Cellabration Holi | Image Resource : dandavats.com

Usually, we celebrate Holi with colour powder, which could be harmful for our health, we still do it just for fun, and there is nothing spiritual about it. With ISKCON and its preaching, I learnt the true meaning of Holi.

This was the unique Holi festivals for me, something worth remembering, and more spiritual. Kolkata’s HG Visakha Devi dasi sang some beautiful bhajans and kirtans. People were chanting, dancing and praying.

Although, that was my first ISKCON Holi celebration in Kanpur. I believed that these Krishna followers made Holi a lot more special and meaningful for the people of Kanpur. I am already excited about 2014’s ISKCON Kanpur.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Vidyavallabha Tirtha ascends Paryaya Peetha | The Sun

Leave a Reply

