Festivals in Chhattisgarh – To Sweep You off Your Feet

Standard

Festivals, food, fun – who doesn’t want all three ‘Fs’ in life? This time I ventured into the festivals of Chhattisgarh, which showed me the unparalleled culture of the state of Chhattisgarh and the charming spirit of the different people celebrating the festivals. This is my last day of my visit to Chhattisgarh and I wanted to explore some scenic places of the state, as the state is considered to be rich abode of different tribes, variation of cultures, flora, fauna, wildlife and fun. During the time of my visit, I had missed a few festivals and a few were yet to arrive. But as I was there for a short stay, I could not relish these ornate occasions. However, I tried to collect as much as I could about the different festivals celebrated here in Chhattisgarh.

Ornaments which are use decorate livestocks of cattle

On Pola festival Ornaments which are use decorate livestocks of cattle | Image Resource : wikipedia.org

Hareli Festival

Hareli Festival | Image Resource : common.wikimedia.org

Hareli festival is celebrated in the month of July and August, or you can say in the monsoons. The local farmers pray to the deity for good harvest of their crops by worshipping their equipments. The Pola festival follows harelip and it is a similar type of occasion where the bullocks are worshipped. Bull race is a significant part for the start of this festival. The Bastar Dusshera is perhaps the state’s most important festival. A 10-day long lavish event is done all over the state where everyone rejoices and celebrates the triumphant return of Lord Rama from ‘Vanvaas’. Champaran Mela is a kind of festival which is celebrated in the month of January and February. It is marked with large number of Vaishnavas from all over the country who come here to offer their prayers to Mahaprabhu Vallabhacharya. Madai festival is celebrated in February which means to meet relatives staying in different villages. Unlimited alcohol drinking and dancing is done in the night to celebrate it. Mati Puja is done to worship the mother earth and this very festival has different local names in different regions.

Madai Festival

Madai Festival | Image Resource : tourism-chhattisgarh.blogspot.in/

Festivals in Chhattisgarh

Festivals in Chhattisgarh | Image Resource : tourism-chhattisgarh.blogspot.in

Apart from the above festivals, the Sarhul festival, Navakhana festival, Ganga Dusshera, Chakradhar Samaroh, Narayanpur Mela, Koriya mela, Fagun Wadai are a few other festivals of Chhattisgarh.

I hope you would enjoy this exciting travelogue. Until I am back, please keep a track of this page…

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

