Sirpur Laxman Temple and Gandheswar Temple, Raipur – A Great Place to Explore Spirituality

Standard

Though I was on my business trip to Raipur, I wanted it to turn it to an exciting trip. Since coming to Chhattisgarh, it was my second day. What should I say about this holy shrine at Raipur named Sirpur Laxman Temple and Gandheswar Temple? The temples are believed to be built in the early 7th century and are constructed with finest bricks. I visited this pious place during my trip to Chhattisgarh with friends last year. Most often, I am looking out for places which are fun-filled and adventurous. But this time I decided to take a break from my routine pastimes. I decided to go for a visit to this holy temple this time. Scenic places have always been in the hit-list of my travel agenda. So this time when I decided to travel to Raipur, I didn’t want to miss these beautiful temples as it is just one hour distance to the east of Raipur.

Sirpur Laxman Temple

Sirpur Laxman Temple | Image Resource : urmiladuhan.blogspot.in

A walkway towards Sirpur Laxman Temple

A walkway towards Sirpur Laxman Temple | Image Resource : urmiladuhan.blogspot.in

The exquisite caring on the walls of the temples are worth viewing. The pillars of the temple are engraved with Kirtimukh, Bharwahakgana, Aja, Gawaksha, Karma Amalak, Garbha Grih, Vatayan and Chitya. The remains found inside the temple are excavated by the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) with the Shaiva, Vaishnava, Jain, and Buddhist beliefs.

The Gandheshwar temple is tucked up along the banks of Mahanadi River. This very temple is known to be the abode of Lord Shiva by the local residents of the place and effects developed on the walls and pillars of the temple are truly artistic. Shiv-Leela images are incarnated on the ceiling of the entrance and I could also see a giant statue of Buddha touching the ground. I observed statues of Varah, Garud Narayan, Shiva, Natraj, and Mahisasur Mardini as well. The entire temple is known for the remarkable architecture it has.

Gandheshwar Temple Along With Mahanadi River

Gandheshwar Temple Along With Mahanadi River | Image Resource : panoramio.com

Gandheshwar Temple

Gandheshwar Temple | Image Resource : panoramio.com

The Sirpur Laxman temple has doors that contain jambs having conventional motifs in the form of lotus flowers and foliage. There are six pillars in the temple which are adorned elegantly to give a beautiful touch of skilled artistry. I loved the overall experience and came back with full content of heart.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

