Bhimbetka in Bhopal – The Rock Shelter of Madhya Pradesh

Standard
View Of Bhimbetka Bhopal

View Of Bhimbetka Bhopal | Image Resource : commons.wikimedia.org

Bhimbetka is an old traditional rock shelter located in the center of India in Madhya Pradesh. I decided to pay a visit to this ultimate rock-cut cultural place on the first day during my vacation in Bhopal. I and my friends started off early and reached Bhimbetka by taking a bus from the city center. This very archaeological site represents some of the earliest traces of mankind. More than 100,000 years ago, the shelters were occupied by the early human. I am a great nature lover and like to discover new places whenever I get an opportunity. The Bhimbetka is a place where an indifferent combination of archaeological resource is intermixed with culture. You can find here early traces of life.

Distance From Bhopal

Distance From Bhopal  |  Image Resource : fromtigerstotombs.wordpress.com

The Bhimbetka is also known as Bhim Baithaka and is located in the Raisen district of Madhya Pradesh, which is just about 45 kilometers away from the state capital, Bhopal. Natural shelter, thick lush green vegetation, perennial falls of water, flora and fauna in this place are very much enchanting. Cave paintings are also carved on the surface of the caves which portrays the heritage of India. Some of the paintings are as old as 30,000 years.

A Rock At Bhimbetka Bhopal

A Rock At Bhimbetka Bhopal  |  Image Resource : panoramio.com

Beautiful rainy river near Bhimbetka, Bhopal

Beautiful rainy river near Bhimbetka, Bhopal  |  Image Resource : panoramio.com

Painting On Bhimbetka Cave

Painting On Bhimbetka Cave  |  Image Resource : mangaldarshan.webs.com

We found a local guide within the rock shelter who took us around the whole site. I learned from him that the entire site is spread over 10 kilometers of area, which is 3 kilometers wide. More than 700 rock-cut shelters and about 400 variant of paintings are present here. Few of the paintings are vibrant with hues of red, green and yellow. Some caves also depict paintings of fauna found in that time, mostly dogs, lizards, antelopes, lions, wild boars, elephants and antelopes. The pre-historical civilization of India is worth watching here at Bhibetka. We also found a restaurant within the shelter that served us food during the lunch hours. We went round the site and completed the journey in four hours. My visit to Bhimbetka was worth it. For a nature lover like me, this place is a treat. I would love to visit the place some time again in the future.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Sawar Pandey

Hello, I am Savar Pandey from Kanpur. I have been working as marketing professional for the past two years. I love my job but often my daily schedule gets a bit monotonous. Therefore, I make it a point to take breaks and travel to new/beautiful places. The best part about traveling is the different cuisines you get to enjoy. I love food and live to eat. So far, I have been to some of the amazing locations. Through my blog, I wish share my experience to all you guys. Hoping that it could help in your travel expeditions.

Leave a Reply

